…on statistics, mochas, and all things Saturday

8 10 2011

As a kid Saturdays meant sleeping in, cartoons, donuts, with maybe a few chores thrown in. In my post college life, Saturday was that beautiful day to relax and catch up on all those things I couldn’t get done during the week. But now, in this grad school phrase Saturdays have taken on a whole new meaning – Statistics!!

I’ll admit that at first glance Statistics at 8am sounds…well…terrible. But honestly, it really isn’t as bad as it sounds.  Saturday Stats has a couple of things going for it:

  1. Kaladi Brother’s is just a couple of blocks away, which means a mocha before class to sweeten the Saturday experience
  2. Korbel could quite possibly have the best statistics professor ever to grace a university (more on that in a later post), and …
  3. I’m out of class by 11, with a whole lot of Saturday still remaining.

The last couple Saturday’s have been amazingly beautiful, which means the great outdoors have put up stiff competition to my reading requirements. But last week I found the most brilliant compromise, a lap around beautiful Wash Park and then reading on a park bench. In my book, that is a near-perfect afternoon.

Today, however, fall has arrived with hints of winter. Its rainy and cold–hopefully perfect incentive to study like mad. Next week is week 5–midterms week. Wish me luck!! From here on out, things get a little crazy :)

journeying on…

R

**Side note Kaladi Brother’s has become my home away from home. And often my incentive for getting up early and getting things done. There is lots of activity, so it is not ideal for power reading (I prefer near silence), but I find it great for writing and researching. In fact, I’m here for the second time today…by the end of these two years, these baristas are going to know me by name :)

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 10 2011
Shelley

Sounds quite lovely! And statistics…can it really come with a compliment on the side? If I was to take that class, it would HAVE to be taught by the best prof ever! Thinking of you this Saturday …

9 10 2011
will

sounds pretty awesome to me!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

