….on gaining perspective

17 05 2012

We’re in the middle of week 8 of Spring Quarter. Which means I have been going in full-on, high-pressure grad school mode for roughly 19 weeks (with just a brief respite in the middle). Everyone warned me that Spring Quarter was going to be rough. But it is one of those things that you can’t fully appreciate until you have experienced it. And now I have…and now I know. I have my sights set on 21 days from now when 1 presentation, 1 short paper, 3 10-page (painfully concise) essays, and 1 take home final will be turned in (for better or for worse). And all this has made me more than a little myopic! It is easy to get caught up in data and theory (both of which do matter!), and lose sight of the fact that everything I’m studying is ultimately about real people…individual people with their own stories of struggle and victory.

Today, this video helped restore a little perspective. (Produced by iEmpathize–the organization I will be interning with)

(A shorter version is available here)

Actions

Information

2 responses

17 05 2012
Melia Erin

Rachel, I am so happy that you are interning with this organization and studying at this school and learning all the amazing things you are learning. Not to sound too maternal, but I am so, so proud of you and the work you will be doing. You are amazing. Truly.

17 05 2012
Cindy Logan

Yeah, what she said! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

